What an Electric Car Costs in Nepal Now: Prices, Import Tax, Charging and a Kathmandu-Pokhara Trip (2026)
This guide is for Nepalis in the US who are helping parents or siblings buy a car back home. Most new cars sold in Nepal are now electric. Here is what they cost, what the tax looks like, where to charge, and what a trip to Pokhara costs.
Short answer:
- Price: popular EVs run from about Rs 31 lakh ($20,200) for a BYD Atto 1 to about Rs 62 lakh ($41,000) for a BYD Atto 3 or Deepal S05.
- Share: EVs were 68.63% of all cars, jeeps and vans imported in FY 2025/26.
- Running cost: Kathmandu to Pokhara is about Rs 375 to Rs 480 of electricity one way, against about Rs 2,630 of petrol.
EV prices in Nepal right now
These are distributor prices reported in 2026, after the new budget tax took effect. Dollar amounts use the Nepal Rastra Bank rate of NPR 152.23 per USD (November 2, 2026). Prices change often, so get a written quote.
| Model | Price (NPR) | About (USD) | Battery / claimed range | Date of price |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BYD Atto 1 Dynamic | 30,75,000 | $20,200 | 30.08 kWh / 230 km | Aug 12, 2026 |
| BYD Atto 1 Premium | 34,80,000 | $22,860 | 38.88 kWh / 300 km | Aug 12, 2026 |
| Tata Punch EV (facelift), starting | 33,99,000 | $22,330 | 30 or 40 kWh | Aug 25, 2026 |
| BYD Atto 2 Essential | 45,95,000 | $30,190 | 45 kWh / 313 km (WLTP) | Aug 11, 2026 |
| BYD Atto 2 Premium | 48,99,000 | $32,180 | not stated | Aug 11, 2026 |
| BYD Atto 3 Advanced | 61,99,000 | $40,720 | not stated | Jun 19, 2026 |
| Deepal S05 Max | 62,99,000 | $41,380 | not stated | Aug 26, 2026 |
Auto shows bring short discounts. At the NADA Auto Show 2026, the Punch EV was Rs 1 lakh off and the Deepal S05 Max Rs 1.5 lakh off, for the show only.
What people are buying
The BYD Atto 2 was the most imported car in FY 2025/26, with 2,264 units, then the BYD Atto 1 (1,299) and the Tata Tigor EV (1,002). Eight of the top ten were electric. Sources differ on the overall share: Himal Press counts EVs at 68.63% of all cars, jeeps and vans (10,847 of 15,806), and Meroauto puts them at about 65% of passenger cars. EV imports also fell about 20% from the year before while petrol imports rose.
The import tax, in plain words
The FY 2026/27 budget, presented May 29, 2026, changed EV tax from motor power to price:
- Excise duty on EVs: removed.
- Customs duty: a flat 20% of the import value (cost, insurance and freight).
- Clean infrastructure fee, by value: 2.5% up to Rs 20 lakh, 20% from Rs 20 to 30 lakh, 35% from Rs 30 to 40 lakh, 90% from Rs 40 to 50 lakh, and 130% above Rs 50 lakh.
The point for your family: tax climbs steeply with price, so a small EV is a much better deal than a large one. After the change, BYD raised the Atto 2 by Rs 3 lakh and the Atto 3 Advanced by Rs 2 lakh, while Meroauto reported other makers cutting some prices by up to Rs 16 lakh. One more thing: the Finance Ministry briefly pulled the bill from its website on May 30, 2026 after the Rs 20 to 30 lakh band was left out, then said that band's fee is 20%.
Charging, including outside Kathmandu
| Where | Price per unit (kWh) |
|---|---|
| Home, 51 to 250 units a month | Rs 9.50 |
| Home, above 250 units a month | Rs 11 |
| Public station, normal hours (5 am to 5 pm), maximum | Rs 12.36 |
| Public station, peak (5 pm to 11 pm), maximum | Rs 14.04 |
| Public station, off-peak (11 pm to 5 am), maximum | Rs 6.18 |
Public prices are ceilings under the regulator's tariff order, which lets a station charge at most 20% over its own electricity rate. Check the price at the charger.
- Kathmandu to Pokhara route: a 2026 guide lists chargers at Dhading (about 60 km out), Kurintar (about 90 km), Mugling (about 110 km), Damauli (about 150 km) and more than 37 in Pokhara.
- Nationwide: 1,511 charging stations as of July 2025, up 311 in a year, according to the energy ministry.
- Winter: Nepal imports power in the dry season. Read why exports and power cuts both happen before you count on charging every night in January.
The Kathmandu to Pokhara trip, costed
My estimate for a BYD Atto 2 Essential (45 kWh, 313 km claimed):
- Claimed use: 45 kWh over 313 km, about 14.4 kWh per 100 km.
- Hill roads: the route guide says real range is 15 to 20% lower than claimed, and Naubise to Mugling uses 15 to 20% more energy. I added 20%, so about 17.3 kWh per 100 km.
- Distance: 197 km on the Prithvi Highway, so about 34 kWh one way.
| How you fuel | One way | Round trip | Round trip (USD) |
|---|---|---|---|
| EV, charged at home (Rs 11) | about Rs 375 | about Rs 750 | about $5 |
| EV, public charger, normal hours (Rs 12.36) | about Rs 420 | about Rs 840 | about $5.50 |
| EV, public charger, peak (Rs 14.04) | about Rs 480 | about Rs 955 | about $6.30 |
| Petrol car, 15 km per litre, Rs 200 per litre | about Rs 2,630 | about Rs 5,250 | about $34.50 |
The petrol price is the Kathmandu rate after the August 3, 2026 revision. The 15 km per litre is my assumption for a small petrol car. By this estimate the Atto 2 can do the trip on one charge, so a stop at Mugling is for tea, not for power. The Nagdhunga tunnel on the way out of Kathmandu is free for cars during its trial. See the megaprojects tracker for road works on the route.
Battery and resale
- Warranty: BYD's distributor Cimex announced 10 years or 200,000 km on the battery and motor in April 2025, for new buyers. It was 8 years before. Ask for the terms in writing for the exact model, because other brands and older cars differ.
- Resale: EV News Nepal estimates used EVs lose about 11% of value a year on average, from asking prices captured on October 27, 2026. Asking prices are not sale prices, so treat this as a rough guide.
- Buying used: ask for a battery health check before your family pays.
What this means if you are paying from the US
- Pick small. Under the new tax, the jump from Rs 40 lakh to Rs 50 lakh and above is steep. A Rs 31 to 35 lakh car is around $20,000 to $23,000.
- Home charging is the real saving. If the house can take a charger, running costs are a fraction of petrol.
- Get prices in writing on the day. BYD changed prices more than once in 2026.
- Sending money for a big purchase? The same rate math is in our Nepal wedding cost from the US post.
Sources
- Prices: Meroauto, Atto 1 (Aug 12, 2026); Meroauto, Atto 2 (Aug 11, 2026); Meroauto, Atto 2 and Atto 3 after the budget (Jun 19, 2026); Meroauto, Punch EV (Aug 25, 2026); Meroauto, Deepal S05 (Aug 26, 2026).
- Import numbers: Himal Press (Jul 24, 2026); Meroauto, top 10 models (Jul 27, 2026).
- Tax: Nepal Drives (May 29, 2026); Ratopati (May 30, 2026).
- Charging tariffs: EV News Nepal, NEA tariff checked Oct 14, 2026. Station count: Meroauto (Jul 18, 2025).
- Route, distance and hill consumption: EV News Nepal, Kathmandu to Pokhara guide (Apr 6, 2026).
- Petrol price: ShareSansar (Aug 3, 2026).
- Warranty: Meroauto (Apr 16, 2025). Resale: EV News Nepal resale tracker, read Nov 2, 2026.
- Exchange rate: Nepal Rastra Bank, November 2, 2026.
FAQ
How much is the cheapest electric car in Nepal?
Among the best sellers, the BYD Atto 1 Dynamic was Rs 30.75 lakh (about $20,200) in August 2026, with a 30.08 kWh battery and a claimed 230 km range. The Tata Punch EV facelift launched at Rs 33.99 lakh in August 2026.
What is the import tax on electric cars in Nepal?
From the FY 2026/27 budget (May 29, 2026), excise duty on EVs was removed. EVs now pay a flat 20% customs duty on the import value, plus a clean infrastructure fee that rises with value: 2.5% up to Rs 20 lakh, then 20%, 35%, 90% and 130% for higher bands above Rs 50 lakh. Cheaper EVs pay much less tax than expensive ones.
How much does it cost to drive an EV from Kathmandu to Pokhara?
About Rs 375 to Rs 480 one way in electricity for a BYD Atto 2 sized car, by my estimate: about 34 kWh for the 197 km at Rs 11 to Rs 14 per unit. A petrol car at 15 km per litre would use about 13 litres, or about Rs 2,630 at Rs 200 a litre.
Can you charge an electric car outside Kathmandu?
Yes, on the main highways. A 2026 route guide lists chargers at Dhading, Kurintar, Mugling, Damauli and more than 37 in Pokhara. The government counted 1,511 charging stations across Nepal in July 2025. Remote areas and side roads have far fewer.
How long is the EV battery warranty in Nepal?
For BYD, the distributor Cimex announced 10 years or 200,000 km on the battery and motor in April 2025, for new buyers. Other brands differ, so ask for the warranty in writing for the exact model.
Do electric cars hold their value in Nepal?
One used-car tracker, EV News Nepal, estimates used EVs lose about 11% of value a year, based on asking prices in October 2026. Its figures are asking prices, not sale prices, and battery health is not tested.
More from the blog
- Can Nepalis in the US Buy Nepal IPOs and NEPSE Shares? (NRN Rules, 2026)
- Flights From the US to Nepal: Routes, Hubs, Pokhara and the Cheapest Months (2026)
- How to Watch Nepal Cricket and the Nepal Premier League From the US (2026)
- Made in Nepal Brands You Can Buy From the US (Tea, Coffee, Khukuri, Crafts)